How I came to love Tolkien

For some months ago I wrote how I came in contact
with Tolkien and his works. I only wrote it in  Swedish so I thought that I might write it in English as well :)
  Both my parents have read The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit and I think my dad has even read The Silmarillion. Despite this I barely knew who Tolkien was until I was 12 years old. I went in the 6th grade and every morning we were supposed to read a book for 20 minutes. So one day I went to the school library and found a big and heavy book which looked kind of intresting (even though it was really old). Bilbo - en Hobbits äventyr (or in English: The Hobbit, or there and back again) was the book I had found. I read it, though it was pretty good but that was it. I think I borrowed the triology the following summer but I dare say I didn't even open them. 2 ½ years flew past and one evening when my family was in Potsdam, Germany my dad thought that we might se The Fellowship of the Ring. We ended up watching the movies and from that moment on I was in love. This happened in Februrary/Mars and by the middle of June I had read The Fellowship, The Two Towers, The Return of the King, The Silmarillion and half of The Lost Road and other writings. And from there it has only escalated. Today I've read basically everything I've come by and is currently reading The History of Middle-earth. Despite of my love to Middle-earth my favorite piece of writing from Tolkien is probably Mythiopeia. I really love that poem! The words are like music and the poem's soul is like a pale mountain aven. However, I'm pretty fond of The Silmarillion and The Children of Húrin too.
   Soo, this was basically how I came to love Tolkien and his works :) (IT'S ONLY 64 DAYS TO THE SWEDISH PREMIERE!!!)
 
Love,

Erunyauvë

Kommentera här: